Monday, February 1, 2010

Best Adapted Screenplay - OSCAR

Wes Anderson & Noah Baumbach, "Fantastic Mr. Fox"
Neill Blomkamp & Terri Tatchell, "District 9"
Geoffrey Fletcher, "Precious"
Nick Hornby, "An Education"
Jason Reitman & Sheldon Turner, "Up in the Air"

"Up in the Air," "Precious," and "An Education" are the surest bets, while the writers' branch has recognized both members of "Fantastic Mr. Fox's" clever team before. For the fifth slot, it could be Nora Ephron for "Julie & Julia" or Tom Ford (co-credited with David Scearce) for his impressive overhaul of "A Single Man." But if voters don't want to let a designer into the club, Neill Blomkamp and Terri Tatchell's "District 9" may be too unsettling to ignore.

Here's my running tally of all the critics' award winners as well as my precursor tally of all the important top-10 lists and major guild prizes. And don't forget to follow me on Twitter (@davekarger) for Oscar news and updates between now and the big night.


Post a Comment